Leviticus 11:7 “And the swine (pig), though he divide the hoof, and be clovenfooted, yet he cheweth not the cud; he is unclean to you.”
Deuteronomy 14:8 “And the swine (pig), because it divideth the hoof, yet cheweth not the cud, it is unclean unto you: ye shall not eat of their flesh, nor touch their dead carcase.”
In this land of our captivity it is almost impossible to avoid pork (Swine, Pig, and Hog etc…). Especially when everything is becoming more and more “processed”. Pork or pork-byproducts are often hidden in foods by the names of different ingredients making foods harmful and unclean to eat. During slavery our people were given pork to eat because it was inexpensive and not the choice meat as beef, lamb or goat and of course the slave owners knew it was unlawful. Even when the rations of pork were slim, our people (slaves) had to resort to wild species such as opossum, raccoon, snapping turtle, deer, squirrel, duck, and rabbit. Today our people live to eat with little thought of how we once were forced to eat abominable meats. In our history, noble Israelite brothers and sisters took a stand to reject the unlawful swine’s flesh. Today, we now have a choice to actually let go of an unlawful diet that was once forced upon us as slaves to return to our LAWFUL diet that the Most High gave us. Today pork products are sometimes used to make snack foods such as puddings, Jello, chips, crackers, cookies, donuts and marshmallows including marshmallow bits in cereal and hot cocoa. The tricky-sneaky thing is, these pork or pork-byproducts are not labeled specifically for what they are. These ingredients are given other names that sound as if they belong in a chemical closet of a lab. We Israelite women have to be diligently on our toes to insure we are screening all food products for our family and ourselves!
While glycerin can be made from vegetable oil, the most common method of making glycerin is to render animal fat (usually pork). This ingredient is natural and commonly found in toothpaste soaps and moisturizing lotions because of its high hygroscopic properties, meaning, it readily absorbs water from the air. Glycerin can also be used for conserving preserved fruit and scientific specimens in biology laboratory work. Glycerin also is useful for the lubrication of molds, for making cakes and candies, making printing ink, and for preventing hydraulic jacks from freezing.
Possible Unlawful Ingredients: Check with the manufacturer to be precise with what is contained in the listed ingredients.
Lard – Pig Fat (pork)
Hydrolyzed animal protein
Enzymes are Catalyst– Substance that accelerates the rate of chemical reaction without being used up in the process.
Emulsifiers- There are two types of emulsions, an oil-in-wateremulsion contains small drops of oil dispersed in water. Water-in-oil emulsion has small drops of water that then disperse in oil. Without an emulsifier or agent of it, the oil and water mixture will not mix or will separate into two layers. Natural sources like vegetable oil and animal fats are often used to make emulsifiers. The most common type of emulsifier used is lipids called Mono-glycerides. These are produced by reacting fatty acid with glycerol.
|Extruded snacks||Chewing gum||Margarine / low fat spreads|
|Breakfast cereals||Frozen desserts||Coffee whiteners|
|Desserts / mousses||Dried potato||Peanut butter|
|Soft drinks||Chocolate coatings||Caramels|
Monostearate or GMS – Is a food additive used as a thickening, emulsifying, anti-caking, and preservative agent. An emulsifying agent for oils, waxes, and solvents; a protective coating for hygroscopic powders; a solidifier and control release agent in pharmaceuticals; and a resin lubricant. It is also used in cosmetics and hair care products. It occurs naturally in the body as a by-product of the breakdown of fats.
Di-glyceride – is an emulsifier agent from the fat of cows, hogs or other livestock, depending on the region. It also may be derived from vegetable fat, such as soy bean or canola oil.
Gelatin – Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones in water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings.It is also in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts, and in vitamins as a coating and as capsules, and it is sometimes used to assist in “clearing” wines. Gelatin is not vegan, but there is a product called “agar agar” that is sometimes marketed as “gelatin.” It is vegan, and obtained from a type of seaweed. There even is a gelatin made from fish (may or may not be a lawful fish).
Rennet is an enzyme which turns milk solids into cheese. Animal rennet is most often used.
Pork in the form of Lard (as I mentioned above), glycerin, keratin, collagen and tallow are used in cosmetics and toiletries. Some common ones that contain pork or pork by-products are lipstick, shaving cream, toothpaste, had lotion, bath soap and shampoos. Pork is also hidden in detergents, cleansers, dish liquids, and soaps. Pork is also present in dairy products such as ice cream, cake frostings, cheese spreads and cheese, yogurts and margarine, whipped cream, and sour cream may also contain gelatin or rennet. Some medications may also contain pork products; the most common is the gelatin coated tablet of the gelatin capsule (gel caps). The Physicians’ Desk Reference is a reliable website that we can refer to for the names, ingredients, indications, reactions and brands of every prescription and non-prescription drug or medication on the market http://www.pdr.net/.
The Holy Effort
The Most High’s Dietary Law is a gift! A gift that coincides with the laws (gifts) in cleaning us up, making us acceptable and aligning us with our Holy Father. It is important that we make the effort to check the labels of the foods that we bring into our homes for our families. Unfortunately on the product package in the ingredient label, the company will not be specific as to which animal the ingredient is obtained from. This is where we can help each other. Contact the companies that manufacture the products that have any of the above ingredients present within them, and then post the obtained information in the comments box below for all sisters to see. They may not all be made with pork but the only way to know for sure is to contact the company or look for the Kosher marking (K or U) on the label. Also, please check out the following link which is another unlawful ingredient called L-Cystine. Which is human hair and duck feathers: http://truenation.websitetoolbox.com/post/lcystine-human-hair-and-duck-feathers-7119676
Sirach 30:25 A cheerful and good heart will have a care of his meat and diet.
A virtuous woman….
Proverbs. 31:14 -15 She is like the merchants’ ships; she bringeth her food from afar. She riseth also while it is yet night, and giveth meat to her household, and a portion to her maidens.